A divorce needs to take at least a month to be legal. The law requires 30 days between the day of filing and the entry of the divorce decree. We can complete the divorce within a week or two if everyone is agreeable. If you are not happy with the way things are going with your spouse, you can file for divorce.
You will need to provide the court with a copy of your marriage license, and you will have to prove that you have been living together as husband and wife for a certain period of time. This can be as short as a few months, or as long as several years, depending on how long you’ve been together and how much time has passed since the last time you were married.
Table of Contents
What is the cheapest way to get a divorce in Arkansas?
A do-it-yourself divorce will be the cheapest way to end your marriage, but it will take some time and attention to make sure you have all the right forms, fill them out correctly, and follow all the steps.
Is Arkansas A 50/50 divorce state?
Arkansas is not a community property state, which means that the property is not divided evenly between the spouses. In other words, if one spouse dies, the other spouse will receive half of the deceased spouse’s property. If you are married to a non-resident, you may be able to transfer your property to your spouse if you meet certain requirements. For more information, see Transferring Property to Non-Resident Spouses.
Can you date while going through a divorce in Arkansas?
Once the court finalizes your divorce, you or your spouse can remarry or start dating. Arkansas is a fault state for divorce and dating before the divorce is finalized can give the other side an unfair advantage.
What is considered abandonment in a marriage in Arkansas?
Abandonment may also occur in the absence of a valid marriage contract. Abandonment is not a ground for divorce or annulment. However, it may be used as a defense to a charge of adultery, fornication, or adultery with a minor. In such a case, the court may order the defendant to pay alimony to the spouse who is the victim of abandonment.
What is the Arkansas law on divorce?
To file for divorce in Arkansas, you or your spouse must have been a resident of Arkansas for at least 60 days before filing for the divorce and 3 full months before the final judgment granting the divorce.
If you are married to a person who is not a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, the court will not grant a divorce unless you and the other spouse have lived together in the United States continuously for a continuous period of not less than 3 years.
If you have not been married for 3 consecutive years, then you will need to file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.
What are grounds for divorce in Arkansas?
Arkansas statute considers the following acceptable grounds for divorce: The husband or wife is impotent (cannot produce children). Either party has been convicted of a felony. Either party has demonstrated that he or she is unfit to be a parent to a child. The wife or husband is mentally or physically incapable of caring for the children.
Arkansas, it is the husband’s duty to provide for his or her wife’s and children’s needs. If a husband fails to do so, he is guilty of adultery and can be imprisoned for up to five years. However, if the wife does not have the means to care for her children, she can file for an order of support from the court.
This order will determine the amount of child support that will be paid by the father to the mother. It is important to note, however, that this order is not a divorce decree, but rather a court order that is binding on both parties.
What is the fastest way to get a divorce in Arkansas?
Uncontested divorce is the easiest and fastest way to get a divorce in Arkansas. You and your spouse agree to end your marriage if you have personal, economic, or health problems. You and your spouse both agree on the division of assets and debts. Contested divorces are the most common type of divorce for Arkansas couples.
The judge will also determine the amount of alimony and child support that will be awarded to the parties. If the divorce is contested, it can take up to two years for a judge to make a final decision.